Tags

, , , ,

Five ingredients. Ten to fifteen minutes. Doesn’t get much easier than that.

This is a meal I’ve already made twice since it’s easy, simple and tasty. It works as either a dinner or a lunch, whether you have ten minutes or half an hour. Yes, this recipe uses microwaved food and prepacked noodles but you can’t always use fresh ingredients. Plus I find it a lot easier to have some frozen veggies lying around when I haven’t made it to the markets or my veggies have gone a bit rotten.

I hadn’t really tried stir-fry noodles like this before, I used Trident Hokkien Noodles which come in a pack of two for about $4. They’re super easy since they’re already cooked and you know the exact calorie count that you’re putting in. I also had a pack of SteamerFresh Veggies in the freezer which has a mix of broccoli, snow peas and carrots. You just stick ‘em in the microwave for 2 minutes and 15 seconds and you’ve got perfectly steamed veggies. They’re even pre-cut for your convenience. Sometimes the convenience of microwaveable food astonishes me.

I also used some frozen cooked and peeled shrimp from Coles, seriously I can’t stress how easy this dish is. It’s a good, hearty meal which is actually pretty healthy as well, I’m not going to say it’s the most delicious meal you’ll ever eat but it’s a great one to have on hand when you’re low on time or energy.

Ingredients:

Trident Hokkien Noodles

Frozen shrimp

Frozen steamer bag of vegetables

1 1/2 tablespoons of soy sauce

1 1/2 tablespoons of oyster sauce

Instructions:

Heat up a frying pan with some olive oil (you can also throw in some garlic to add a bit more flavour) once it’s hot, throw in the shrimp and saute them for a minute or two.

Put the veggies in the microwave and steam them and then add them to the shrimp.

Open the bag of noodles and pop those in the pan too and then stir in the soy sauce and oyster sauce.

Continue heating everything together for another minute or two and then serve it up on a plate.

Dig in and enjoy the simplicity.

 

