Tags

, , ,

Just in time for the weekend here’s a great recipe for a simple yet delicious breakfast/brunch. I only recently tried eggs with pesto about a month ago and it really is delicious, I couldn’t believe I’d never even seen it before.

I was in the mood for a real breakfast the other day, since usually I just have a piece of toast with one of many different toppings, tomato, peanut butter, jam, vegemite…whatever I’m in the mood for that day. But I had some eggs lying around and decided it was time for a tasty little brekkie.

Ingredients: (Serves 3)

5 eggs (If you’re really hungry just double the recipe since the servings are pretty small)

1 1/2 tablespoon of pesto

Dash of milk

About 1/8 cup of Feta cheese

Salt

Pepper

Instructions:

Heat a frying pan over medium heat and throw a little bit of butter in to coat the bottom of the pan. (If you want to be healthier you can use olive oil or vegetable but I’ve grown up using butter and know that it tastes much better that way).

In a small bowl, crack all the eggs in, add a dash of milk and then whisk. Add a bit of salt and pepper.

Once the pan is hot pour the eggs in. Crumble the feta into the eggs and then cook, stirring for about 3 or 4 minutes, or until you feel like it’s done. I’m one of those people who always likes eggs a bit runny so I only cooked them for 3 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the pesto.

Serve with a nice buttered piece of toast.

A very simple dish, but perfect for the student who wants something fancy every once in a while.

 

 

